Part 1, Stage 2, Sample-making, choice and rationale

12 September 2016

For this assignment, I was required to choose approximately 10 exercises from the 20 listed. The first decision I made was that my development needs would best be met by choosing a few exercises from each project rather than concentrating on a single topic. 

To make my selection I thought about how I could best develop my visual vocabulary, by building experience in those areas which I felt required more depth or knowledge and practice. I also gave consideration to which exercises appealed to me most, and which had the greatest potential for application within my practice.

My choice and rationale is detailed below:

 

Project 1, Folding and crumpling

From this project I chose Exercise 3 (Knife and box pleats), and Exercise 4 (Incremental and twisted pleats). I have a diploma in curtain-making and soft furnishings, so some basic experience of pleating curtain headers, headboards and bed valances. I was intrigued to have the opportunity to see I much could push and develop these techniques through use of different materials and novel configurations.

From Project 1, I also chose Exercise 5 (Basic crumpling). Crumpling is a technique in which I have no experience, but which has enormous potential for creating texture and 3D shapes.


Project 2, Tearing and cutting 

I chose 2 related exercises from this project – Exercise 4 (Cutting holes) and Exercise 5 (creating flaps). For my sketchbook work in Textiles 1: Exploring ideas, I made some samples investigating the idea of cut holes as “windows” to restrict the viewers’ ability to see a whole image. This way the viewer can be encouraged to focus on a particular area or an image, or to imagine what imagery might be behind the obscured area(s). As I find these ideas fascinating, it seemed logical to choose this exercise. The potential for flaps to form interesting shadows is also particularly appealing.

 

Project 3, Heating and fusing

I chose Exercise 2 (Using a heat gun) partly because it is an technique whichI did not explore as fully as I would have liked in Textiles 1: A creative approach. Also, thinking about recording outcomes, it struck me that a sample produced by modification through heat would make a very interesting subject for drawing. I first used drawings to record and analyse samples In Textiles 1, Exploring ideas, when (at the suggestion of my tutor), I made drawing analogies of my knitted samples and nets. This proved a partcularly fruitful area of exploration. In addition to helping me understand and relate to the properites of the samples, it gave me an image which I could/manipulate further through photography and printing.

In contrast to Exercise 2, Exercise 3 (Using hot water) strikes me as a more controllable technique. Being a type of moulding, it interests me that 3D shapes can be formed so simply. It is a technique which I am itching to try!


Project 4, Scratching and embossing

I have selected Exercise 2 (Scratching) simply because I love the idea of disrupting and damaging surfaces to form texture. When I see a scratched surface I like to think about the physical activity which has caused it, and this adds an extra dimension of interest.


Project 5, Puncturing and stitching

This project stood out as being the most appealing to me and so I have selected both Exercise 1 (Puncturing) and Exercise 2 (Stitching). They offer a huge scope and potential, so I will need to resist the temptation to get carried away and make too many samples. For this reason I will allocate a fixed amount of time and attempt these exercises last.

 

 

Leave a Reply

