Assignment 3 – response to tutor feedback

28 March 2017


Assignment 3 – response to tutor feedback


My tutor for this module was Cari Morton. A link to her feedback can be found here

 

Response to tutor feedback:

Summary of the main learning points with my responses:

 

1. Exploration of biological tissue through latex sampling was crying out for more discussion about medical connotations and how it reflects on the audience. Would have liked to see more about the intentions for these samples.

I agree with the comments, but please see my response to point 4. Because of the large number of experimental samples made, I didn’t have time to expand this idea, which came right at the end of the project. I will have to think more carefully about division of time in future.

 

2. Use sketchbooks even more to develop samples and propose further ideas. Keep the photographs as they compose different imagery to drawings.

I will continue to develop the use of my sketchbook in this way (using sketchbooks to develop samples is a new concept for me which I only started in assignment 3). It is good to know that the photographs are useful and can be retained.

 

3. In the sketchbook, writing sometimes predominates over visuals. Reflect on whether I could be more succinct (maybe use bullet points).

I will try and take this on board, although at the time of receiving my feedback, I had already completed three quarters of my sketchbook for assignment 4.


4. An example was given of a leather sample which I said “didn’t appeal” to me, and on this occasion I hadn’t qualified my statement, nor had I expanded on the other contexts in which it might be used.

I try very hard not to do this (there are many other examples of where I have qualified what I liked or disliked about a sample, so I am disappointed that this one has been picked out, because it is not typical). 

In my comment I stated that “the leather held the creases and marks well, although as a sample, it’s not really very appealing…” I should have expanded on why I felt that it didn’t appeal “as a sample”. What I meant, was that as a stand alone object I found it difficult to relate to; it neither being immediately analogous to another object nor suggesting any particular feelings or emotions.

When thinking about other contexts in which the sample may be used, I could have thought about it being cut and rejoined at different angles, or perhaps being joined with a contrasting material to add excitement? I could have asked whether the sample would have been more interesting had I changed the scale, or cut out shapes and duplicated them t make a pattern. These are options which I should have suggested and expanded upon.

Finally, this was sample 32 of a total of 65 (The coursework guidance suggested “about 6 samples”). By this point I was mentally exhausted and finding it difficult to say something new about each sample without being repetitive. It is nobody’s fault but my own for overburdening myself with too many samples and it is something that I must urgently address in future assignments. Had I worked 10 times less samples I would have had the time and energy to be more thoughtful, discerning and careful in my analysis and writing up.


5. It was mentioned that the use of colour in my sketchbook sometimes created a dissonance when making observational drawings of samples.

I agree that some of the colour combinations didn’t work. I had purposely been trying on expand my colour palettes away from those in the samples, but I clearly need to be careful with this approach.

I have written an analysis of the colour sketches and lessons learnt which can be found here.

 

6. Continue to develop multiple outcomes from each source.

I am pleased that my tutor has picked up on this because it is an area which I have been actively working on. I will continue to develop this approach.


7. Consider using the forms, shapes and patterns which I have used in the last three parts of the course as the imagery for the prints.

See comment to point 3. Unfortunately most of my ideas were developed and I had completed Project 1 of Part 4 before I received the feedback.

Leave a Reply

